Eaton Bishop Parish Council

This is DRAFT website of Eaton Bishop Parish Council

  • Ths a rough idea of ​​what the EBPC website may look like 
1. Homepage
- Short Paragraph describing the Parish
- Short Paragraph introducing the role and work of the PC
- Names and Parish Councillors and contact email for Parish Clerk for queries and feedback

The Parish of Eaton Bishop is a rural parish situated to the west of Hereford in the Stoney Street Ward of Herefordshire Council. The boundaries of the Parish are mainly natural features and historic routes with the River Wye to the north and northeast, the Cagebrook to the south, south east and east and Stoney Street, a Roman road, to the west ending at the south bank of the River Wye. The main settlement is Eaton Bishop with the older properties centred around the parish Church of St Michaels and All Angels with the smaller settlement of Ruckhall to the east and Lower Eaton to the northeast and New Mills south, bordering with Clehonger. The Parish covers 672 hectares, the majority of which is prime agricultural land with areas of common land. The population is under 500 living in less than 200 homes with approximately 330 people on the electoral role.

Eaton Bishop Parish Council

Parish Councils are the first tier of governance and are an essential part of the structure of local democracy with the vital role of acting on behalf of the communities they represent.

Some of the duties undertaken by Eaton Bishop Parish Council include the following:

  • give views on behalf of the community on planning applications and other proposals that affect the Parish
  • undertake projects and schemes that benefit local residents
  • work in partnership with other bodies to achieve benefits for the Parish
  • alert relevant authorities to problems that arise or work that needs to be undertaken
  • help the other tiers of local government keep in touch with the local community

The Parish Council have power to raise money through the Local Council Tax by way of the Parish Precept. Parish Councillors decide annually the amount of the precept for the following year which is collected by the Local Authority as part of the Council Tax. This money is then paid to the Parish Council in two payments normally in April and September each year.

Eaton Bishop Parish Council Parish Councillors are supported by the Parish Clerk who is also the Responsible Financial Officer (RFO) for the Council.

 Current Parish Councillors are:

Becky Wall   (chair)                              

David Richards                              

Alan Tydeman                                  

James Ball                                      

Rupert Chatwin                               

George Thomas                              

Roger Knight

 Parish Clerk and RFO (please make all contacts through clerk)

Alison Wright                                                 


Stoney Street Ward Councillor

David Hitchiner                                                 



 ????????what to do with following???????????????


Data Protection Act May 2018

In order to comply with Data Protection Act May 2018 the Parish Council is publishing the following documents:


EBPC Data Protection Policy GDPR May 2018.docx

EBPC Document Retention and Disposal Policy GDPR May 2018.doc

EBPC GDPR Privacy Notice May 18.doc

EBPC Safeguarding Statement May 2018.docx


Standing Orders

EBPC has adopted the 2018 Standing Orders as per the attachment below:

2018 EBPC Standing Orders.docx


Annual Parish Meeting

Pre APM Report 2018.pdf

APM reports 2018.PDF


William James Thomas

Parish Council Events
Result of Uncontested Election
Eaton Bishop UNCON.pdf

White Paper - Planning for the Future - Consultation

Please see link below for information on EBPC responses to Consultation 

Planning for the Future White Paper FINAL EBPC RESPONSES.pdf

Covid 19 Lockdown

Due to the current situation Parish Council Meetings will take place via Zoom and if you wish to join the meetings please click on the link shown on the Agenda for each month.

To access the meeting click on the link, which will take you to the meeting home page. Enter the Meeting ID and Password and this will take you into the waiting room. As soon as the host joins the meeting you will be connected.

If you do not have access to a PC or Smartphone, you can dial into the meeting as follows:

One tap mobile
+442030512874,,7163054847#,,#,016342# United Kingdom
+442034815237,,7163054847#,,#,016342# United Kingdom

Dial by your location
+44 203 051 2874 United Kingdom
+44 203 481 5237 United Kingdom
+44 203 481 5240 United Kingdom
+44 131 460 1196 United Kingdom

Find your local number:

First World War 100 years
1918 - 2018

Following an idea from David Richards and supported by the Parish Council we intend to mark 100 years since the end of World War One and create a permanent reminder of the 9 brave men from the Parish that gave their lives.  
On a triangular piece of land near the pond on Honeymoor Common, which was recently mown, we already have 8 Oak trees. An additional English Oak will be planted and then the 9 trees will be labelled with the names of the 9 local brave men that gave up their tomorrows for our todays.

The 9 Oaks
We shall not forget
Francis Thomas Burrough
Stanley James Durnell
Frederick George Fleckner
Robert John Fitzgerald Ingham
A Lewis
William Edgar Mole
Harry Morgan
James Rawlings